It is day one of World Cup 2018 quarter-finals. After England's historic penalty shootout victory on Tuesday evening, the World Cup quarter-final line-up is complete. It is, perhaps, the most intriguing tournament of recent times, with many of the favourites already out of contention.

Holders Germany were squeezed out in the group stages, while 2010 winners Spain, Lionel Messi's Argentina and European champions Portugal were all eliminated in the last-16.
Russia, the unfancied hosts, saw off the Spanish side on penalties, while France came out on top in a seven-goal thriller with Argentina. Uruguay, inspired by Edinson Cavani, clinched victory against Cristiano Ronaldo's Portugal.

Belgium won a thrilling contest with Japan thanks to a last-gasp Nacer Chadli goal, with Croatia overcoming Denmark in a penalty shootout victory of their own. Shortly before England's win against Colombia, Sweden overcame Switzerland to book their quarter-final place. Brazil - along with Sweden the only side not to concede in their second round game - eased past Mexico.
Each team's route from group stage to final is pre-determined, meaning that every nation has known its probable quarter-final opponent since long before a ball was kicked in Russia.

Indeed, England's decision to rest players during the group stage encounter with Belgium was, in part, influenced by who might await Gareth Southgate's team in the knockout phases.
The four quarter-final ties will be played on Friday 6 July and Saturday 7 July. On each day of football, one match will kick off at 3pm UK time and one match at 7pm.

Teams that have reached the last 16

Uruguay (2-1 winners against Portugal)
France (4-3 winners against Argentina)
Russia (winners on penalties against Spain after a 1-1 draw)
Croatia (winners on penalties against Denmark after a 1-1 draw)
Brazil (2-0 winners against Mexico)
Belgium (3-2 winners against Japan)
Sweden (1-0 winners against Switzerland)
England (winners on penalties against Colombia after a 1-1 draw)

Post a Comment